90 Day Men Announce Numero Group Box Set We Blame Chicago, Share Unreleased Song: Listen


Numero Group has announced a new 5xLP box set compiling the discography of 90 Day Men. We Blame Chicago is out January 19. Remastered by Heba Kadry, it features several previously unreleased songs, including a 2001 John Peel Session as well as eight tracks from their earliest days. Hear one of those unearthed tracks “Untitled 01,” and check out the unboxing video, below.

90 Day Men got started in 1995, first out of St. Louis but they became best known as a band based in Chicago. Founded by the trio of Brian Case, Chandler McWilliams, and Cayce Kay, the band soon enlisted Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe (who stepped in on bass following McWilliams’ departure from the group) and Andrew Lansangan.

The box set includes their three studio albums: 2000’s (It (Is) It) Critical Band, 2002’s To: Everybody, and 2004’s Panda Park. The fourth LP in the box is a collection of their EPs, singles, and outtakes, and the Peel Session is the fifth. A cassette called Orbit to Orbit is limited to 500 copies of the box’s “Silver and Snow Variant” edition. That one features the eight early unreleased songs, plus the songs from their first 7″ Taking Apart the Vessel. The release also features a 68-page oral history compiled by Tim Kinsella.

Lowe recorded multiple albums under the name Lichens after the dissolution of 90 Day Men. His recent output under his own name includes the score to Nia DaCosta and Jordan Peele’s Candyman remake. Brian Case has been in multiple bands following 90 Day Men, including the Ponys and Disappears. This year, his band Facs released the new album Still Life in Decay.