Fontaines D.C. Cover Nick Drake’s “’Cello Song” for New Tribute Album: Watch the Video

Fontaines D.C. have shared their cover of Nick Drake’s “’Cello Song.” It appears on a forthcoming covers compilation, The Endless Coloured Ways: The Songs of Nick Drake, which is out July 7 via Chrysalis. The collection features covers from Feist, Liz Phair, Let’s Eat Grandma, Philip Selway of Radiohead, Skullcrusher, Gia Margaret, Christian Lee Hutson, and more. The compilation was put together by Chrysalis CEO Jeremy Lascelles and Nick Drake Estate manager Cally Callomon. Find the tracklist below.

“Nick Drake was not that concerned with promoting himself as an artist, but I think he would have been overjoyed to hear his art revisited and newly promoted by so many vibrant and talented artists,” Callomon said in a statement. “Jeremy and I also felt it crucial that the album should flow, as a cohesive listening experience, as opposed to a gallery of separate exhibits. Whether we have succeeded in these two ambitions, only the listener can tell. We are honored and so grateful to all our friends, old and new, who took part in the making of this beautiful set.”

The Endless Coloured Ways: The Songs of Nick Drake:

01 The Wandering Hearts: “Voice From a Mountain”
02 Fontaines D.C.: “’Cello Song”
03 Camille: “Hazey Jane II”
04 Mike Lindsay / Guy Garvey: “Saturday Sun”
05 Bombay Bicycle Club / The Staves: “Road”
06 Let’s Eat Grandma: “From the Morning”
07 David Gray: “Place to Be”
08 John Parish / Aldous Harding: “Three Hours”
09 Stick in the Wheel: “Parasite”
10 Ben Harper: “Time Has Told Me”
11 Emeli Sandé: “One of These Things First”
12 Karine Polwart / Kris Drever: “Northern Sky”
13 Craig Armstrong: “Black Eyed Dog” [ft. Self Esteem]

01 Bombay Bicycle Club / The Staves: “Road”
02 Nadia Reid: “Poor Boy”
03 Christian Lee Hutson: “Which Will” [ft. Elanor Moss]
04 Skullcrusher / Gia Margaret: “Harvest Breed”
05 Katherine Priddy: “I Think They’re Leaving Me Behind”
06 Aurora: “Pink Moon”
07 Joe Henry / Meshell Ndegeocello: “Time of No Reply”
08 Famous Blue Cable: “River Man” [ft. Feist]
09 Liz Phair: “Free Ride”
10 Philip Selway: “Fly”
11 John Grant: “Day Is Done”
12 The Wandering Hearts: “Voice From a Mountain”

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

About The Author

You might be interested in


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *